Monday Musings #47

20130819-102928.jpg

I was reading my Bible this morning and came across a chapter that I’ve read before, but never really thought of it in the way I did today, in 2 Samuel 10; Israel is about to be attacked by some 30,000+ Syrians, Ammonites, and other peoples and he has sent his mighty men to defend the kingdom. When a certain quote that perfectly makes sense for the situation stood out to me.

[Joab speaking to Abishai his brother] “And he said, “If the Syrians are too strong for me, then you shall help me, but if the Ammonites are too strong for you, then I will come and help you.”

Like I said in this instance it makes perfect sense; If the enemy is too much, I’ve got your back. Now they were obviously talking about a literal battle here, but I thought about it in more of a figurative sense. Satan wants to tempt and derail the children of God that is something he desires to do, however as brothers and sisters in Christ we need to bind together and fight off this temptation. If your brother is struggling, have his back. I know that’s simple but if your sister is fighting all of Hell in the season she is in, cover her in prayer. The greatest strength that the church can have in fighting off the enemy is unity and prayer.

[Mockingjay, Aladdin & The Enchanted Lamp – free on audible.com (45)]

Leave a comment